National Teams of ECVET Experts

In 2011, national agencies responsible for implementing the Lifelong Learning Programme (now Erasmus+) were invited to establish national teams of ECVET experts.


Funding was provided to cover activities across an initial two-year period (2012-2013) and was taken up by national agencies in Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland and the UK.


Bringing together almost 200 national experts, across 25 European countries, national teams undertook activities centred predominantly on marketing and promotion - including the preparation of materials in local languages - and the provision of information, advice, support and training to all those interested, or involved, in ECVET implementation. National, regional and sectoral stakeholders were targeted alongside employers, and those working on educational policy or strategic development.


More recently, national agencies responsible for implementing Erasmus+, the EU funding programme for education, training, youth and sport covering the period 2014-2020, assumed responsibility for the continuing promotion of ECVET with the majority continuing to work with teams of national experts.